When we checked on 9 October 2026, most Sydney associations had set their junior rep trials for the 2027 season across October and early November 2026, with a few starting in late September. Each association runs its own trials, takes its own registrations and sets its own fee. If your child is registered with another association, Basketball NSW requires an Intent to Trial form first, and each team can take only a limited number of transfers.
Last updated 9 October 2026.
Rep trials (some parents call them tryouts) pick the teams that represent each association in Basketball NSW's Waratah Junior Leagues the following year. So the trials running in spring 2026 pick the teams for the 2027 season.
Most of the window is October and November. Northern Suburbs says its trials run each year from October to November. City of Sydney says its Comets trials for U12, U14, U16 and U18 boys and girls run across October and November. Blacktown's 2027 Storm trials begin in October 2026. A few start earlier: Bulls listed its first junior sessions for late September, and Penrith listed its Rep Rookie trials for the 2027 season, for players who have not represented Penrith before, on 27 September and 4 October.
Basketball NSW's 2027 Waratah Junior League Rules of Operation say it encourages every association to run trials within a consistent window each year, and that it announces the window when it releases the next year's competition calendar. Penrith says Basketball NSW gives associations a designated trial window during October. In practice, each association still sets its own sessions, venues and registration deadlines.
The commitment starts quickly after selection. Blacktown says Storm players usually start training one or two times a week in late November, with pre-season games following in February and the season running from March until July or August. Hornsby's 2027 trial guide calls rep potentially a 10-month commitment, with pre-Christmas training from November to early December.
Below is the official trials page for each of the 15 Sydney associations with their own page in this guide, plus Macarthur, opened on 9 October 2026. We link to each association's own page rather than copying session times, because associations move sessions and close registrations, and several publish their schedule only as an image. City of Sydney, St George and Sutherland all show key trial details in pictures rather than page text.
When we checked on 9 October 2026, all 15 of those associations showed 2027 trial information. Macarthur's website showed only a holding page saying a new site is coming soon, on every page we tried, so contact the association directly. Some registrations had already closed by then: Hills had closed online registration for several age groups and was taking registrations at its front desk before each trial.
Not every association on this list plays the Metro Junior League. Wollondilly says its rep teams compete in the Southern Junior League and the Barrengarry League, against regions south of Wollondilly.
| Association | Official trials page | 2027 information on 9 Oct 2026 | Trial fee as published |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hornsby Ku-ring-gai | HKBA Spiders 2027 trials | Yes, links to a 2027 trial guide | $33 boys Round 1; $60 Rounds 2 to 4 |
| Manly Warringah | Manly Sea Eagles junior rep page | Yes, links to 2027 trial registration (some page text still refers to the previous year) | $60 |
| Northern Suburbs | Norths Bears 2027 trials | Yes, with a 2027 trial handbook | $70 (up to two trials before cuts) |
| Hills | Hills Hornets rep trials 2027 | Yes | Not stated in the page text |
| Blacktown | Blacktown Storm 2027 trials | Yes | $45 flat; late registration costs extra |
| Penrith | Penrith junior rep trials | Yes | Not stated in the page text |
| Parramatta Cumberland | Cumberland Chargers 2027 trials | Yes | $25 per trial stage |
| City of Sydney | Sydney Comets junior rep trials | Yes; details are shown in images | Not stated in the page text |
| Bulls | Bulls 2027 trial dates | Yes | Varies by age group; not stated in the page text |
| Marrickville Spirit | Spirit 2027 junior rep trials | Yes | $65, non-refundable |
| St George | St George Saints rep page | Yes; trial details are shown in an image | Not stated in the page text |
| Sutherland | Sutherland Sharks player info | Yes; the full schedule is shown in an image | $30 per athlete (club news post) |
| Bankstown | Bankstown Bruins representative page | Yes | A one-off fee; amount not stated |
| Camden Valley | Wildfire 2027 rep trials | Yes | $50, paid at the first session |
| Macarthur | No trials page found | No; its website was a holding page when we checked on 9 October 2026 | Not published |
| Wollondilly | Wollondilly Razorbacks 2027 trials | Yes | Not stated in the post |
Most of the trial pages we read on 9 October 2026 describe the same shape: an open first session, then invitation-only sessions with returning rep players. Marrickville Spirit runs trial 1 as open and trials 2 and 3 by invitation. Parramatta Cumberland runs four trials, with trials 3 and 4 invitation only. Blacktown runs four sessions and contacts players after each one if they are recalled. Hills runs an open trial week, then invitational weeks, and from week 2 publishes the list of athletes going through on its website by 5pm on the Tuesday after trials.
Expect to commit to every session. Norths says trialists must attend both trial dates for their age group, Manly says players must be available for all dates if invited back, and Marrickville Spirit says no alternate trial dates will be offered. Hills and Marrickville Spirit both say spectators cannot watch.
Small practical rules catch families out. Camden Valley asks players to bring a light and dark reversible singlet, a ball and water, and to arrive 30 minutes early to get an ID number and pay. Blacktown asks trialists not to wear any association uniform or gear. Bulls closes trial registrations 48 hours before each trial, and Hornsby's guide says registrations close 48 hours before each trial and are not refundable.
On what selectors look for, Hornsby's 2027 guide lists current skill level, game understanding, coachability and a team-first mindset, and says selection is based on performance, attitude and fit within the team. Norths says previous rep players are not prioritised over new players, and that the main consideration is comparative skill at representative level. Norths also says a child cannot trial for the age group above.
Trial fees are small next to a rep season, but they vary. The amounts published in page text on 9 October 2026 for the 2027 trials were: Hornsby $33 for boys Round 1 (and for its rookies) and $60 for Rounds 2 to 4; Manly $60; Norths $70, covering up to two trials before cuts; Blacktown a flat $45, with late registration costing extra; Parramatta Cumberland $25 for each stage; Marrickville Spirit $65, non-refundable; Sutherland $30 per athlete; and Camden Valley $50, paid at the first session.
Bankstown says there is a one-off trial fee paid on registration but does not print the amount. Bulls says payment details vary between age groups. Penrith's trial pages say costs are listed, but no amount appears in the page text. At Penrith, players who pay for and pass the Rep Rookie trials do not pay a second trial fee for the main trials.
Basketball NSW's 2027 rules say a player registered with one association may not trial with another without an Intent to Trial form, and that the parent or guardian is responsible for completing the online form before the trial. The form is not a clearance. A player cannot play in a Basketball NSW competition for the new association until a clearance has been processed.
The form sits on Basketball NSW's website under the Competitions menu, as Intent to Trial. Bulls says that when a form is submitted, both associations involved get an automated email with the player's details. Hills says all associations involved and Basketball NSW are notified.
Association wording varies, so read your target association's page. Hornsby says its own 2026 members do not need the form, only players from other associations. Bankstown calls it a permission to trial form and says a transfer form follows if the player is selected. Parramatta Cumberland says its own intent to trial form is mandatory for every trialist and must be done before registering.
Basketball NSW's 2027 rules require a player to play for a team from within their own region, and to live in, or board at a school in, that region. Requests to play outside a region are considered case by case. Within Sydney, associations openly invite outside players: Hills says its open trials welcome rep players from other associations as well as its own local competition players who hope to play for the Hornets in 2027.
The real limit is the transfer cap. The rules set a maximum number of transferred players per team, shown in the table below, and a player may not represent more than one association in the same season unless Basketball NSW approves it on appeal. A player who did not play rep in the previous season, because they were not selected or chose a year off, does not count toward a team's transfer limit, but each team can have only one of these free transfers a season.
Several Sydney associations publish their own cap as well. Manly, Hills and Camden Valley each limit transfers from other Metro Junior League associations to two per junior age group. Families who have moved into the area are treated differently: Manly says they are not classified as transfers, while Hills and Camden Valley ask them to apply for special consideration. Norths' 2027 trial handbook adds that Basketball NSW is reviewing the transfer rules and they may change for the 2027 season.
| Competition | Division | Most transferred players per team |
|---|---|---|
| Waratah State Championships | All | 1 |
| Metro Junior League | Divisions 1 and 2 | 1 |
| Metro Junior League | Division 3 and below | 3, with no more than 2 from the same association |
| Country regional leagues | Division 1 | 1 |
| Country regional leagues | Division 2 and below | 3, with no more than 2 from the same association |
Mostly across October and early November 2026, going by the pages we read on 9 October 2026. Norths and City of Sydney both describe October to November, Blacktown's trials start in October, and Bulls listed some junior sessions for late September. Check your association's own page for exact sessions.
If they are registered with another association, yes. Basketball NSW's 2027 rules say a registered player may not trial elsewhere without one. It is not a clearance, which is processed later if your child is selected.
Published 2027 trial fees on 9 October 2026 ranged from $25 per stage at Parramatta Cumberland to $70 at Norths, with Blacktown at $45, Camden Valley at $50, Manly at $60 and Marrickville Spirit at $65.
They can, but a player may represent only one association in a season. Hills' selection policy, approved in August 2024, says that when choosing between two similarly assessed athletes, preference goes to the one trialling only at Hills.
Not at Norths, whose 2027 trial information says a child cannot trial for the age group above. Basketball NSW's 2027 rules set age groups by age at 31 December, and U12 players must be at least nine by then.
If you have a question that you want answered and it isn't here - talk to head coach Cameron and he can talk you through the question that you have.
More on trials and the season
Next questions parents ask
Facts on this page were compiled from the official sources below and written up in our own words. Dates, fees and venues change every season, so confirm anything you are relying on with the association directly.
This page was last updated October 2026. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.